3 Types of Defective Product Liability Lawsuits

If you have suffered personal injury or property damage due to a defective product, the claim you may have will likely fall into one of the following three categories:

1. Manufacturing Defect. The faulty product in this case will have been caused by some error in the manufacturing process. The product that injured you was different in some way from the others being sold. An example of a manufacturing defect would be a bicycle that came from the factory without brake pads.

2. Design Defect. Claims in this category do not rely on an error in manufacturing. These products can be made exactly to specifications, yet still possess a quality of being inherently defective or dangerous. Examples of this group would be child safety seats with sharp edges, or the now infamous lawn darts - a "toy" with flying spear points marketed to children.

3. Failure to warn. Companies are required to give the consumer adequate warnings about the unexpected dangers of their products. These notices should include information about special considerations to keep the user safe. For example, a ladder should come with clearly noted weight limits and a warning about not standing on the top rug or step.

In order to pursue a claim for any of these three categories of product liability, the injury or damage must have been a direct result of the defect or absence of a reasonable use warning.

Contact our office to discuss your situation.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information