Basic Facts about Elder Abuse and Neglect

According to the CDC, there are more than 500,000 older adults in the United States who suffer abuse or neglect each year. This staggering statistic is assumed to be lower than the actual numbers since many elder adults do not report the violence.

There are six types of maltreatment identified by the CDC as elder abuse or neglect:

· Physical abuse

· Sexual abuse

· Emotional abuse

· Neglect

· Abandonment

· Financial abuse (this includes financial exploitation)

The Department of Health and Human Services Administration on Aging defines 'physical abuse' as "the willful infliction of injury, unreasonable confinement, intimidation or cruel punishment with resulting physical harm, pain, or mental anguish or deprivation by a person, including a caregiver, of goods or services that are necessary to avoid physical harm, mental anguish, or mental illness."

The definition of neglect can be harder to define due to variations among different situations. However, it generally involves the actions or inactions that do not fulfill the obligations of a caregiver who is responsible for the care of an older adult.

Elder abuse or neglect can occur in nursing home facilities or in private homes. If you suspect that an older adult is the victim of abuse of neglect, there are several ways to help. (See our blog - What You Can Do about Elder Abuse or Neglect.) In order to file a report, you do not have to prove the abuse.

Contact our office today to discuss any concerns you may have about nursing home abuse or neglect.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information